Best chocolate cookie idea I’ve ever had!

It was sunday and we had just been for a gorgeous lunch, on our way home we decided that choc chip cookies had to be made. the best place to stop on a sunday afternoon for your baking supplies is my magnificent Spar at Broadacers, they have everything!

I know what your thinking what can be better than the smell of fresh chocolate chip cookies rising to perfection in the over whilst making a cup of tea to add to delight of those little thigh enlarging pockets of seductive goodness waiting to be smashed in to your mouth before you gently settle on your couch to a night of movies.

Stop you say… can you can you really resist the melting chocolate as it gently bakes in the cookie, making it even more sexy as you watch it gently rise and brown like a sun kissed Mediterranean on camps bay.

Well if that doesn’t get you all hot and bothered, how about not making tiny cookies but being bold and very 2013. How about taking the cookie recipe,  double the ingredient and put it into one tin.

Yes, you read it correctly! I made a cake out of cookie dough, double the amount of chocolate chips, I then melted 2 slabs of dark chocolate and drizzled them on top like Willy Wonker in his experiment lab.

Then my evil thoughts got the better of me and I imagined taking my master piece and adding to each slice of Dark Choc chip cake a scoop of hand-made vanilla pod ice cream and fresh strawberries.

 

The cookie recipe I used was from Nigella.com

Ingredients

  • 1 cup(s) margarine (or butter)
  • 1.5 cup(s) brown sugar
  • 2 medium egg(s)
  • 1.5 teaspoon(s) best vanilla extract
  • 2.25 cup(s) all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon(s) baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon(s) salt
  • 3 cup(s) chocolate chip(s)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 325C degree. Using a mixer beat butter and brown sugar till light and fluffy (tends to lighten slightly in colour – around 4-5 mins depending on what else you are doing) add eggs and vanilla and beat.
  2. Add flour, soda and salt and beat till smooth.
  3. Add Chocolate chips and there you go! Bake essentially till what your definition of done is I love mine still wonderful & gooey (depends on how large the cookies are – generally anywhere from 8-10 minutes) I also tend to undercook slightly because it makes them stay chewier when you keep them. (That plus I am just odd and love undercooked cookie dough.)
  4. The best way to cool I have found is a wire rack (what I tend to do is let them cool on the tray for about 5-6 mins then remove to the rack)
  5. Eat as soon as you can handle the heat (I’ve eaten them straight off of the tray) or store in a sealed container (or open plate but be warned they get eaten faster that way)

Comments from the Chef

I didn’t totally love this recipe as I find it too buttery and will post one that uses milk as well, I find it makes it more fluffy and light.

This is fantastic for sunday tea with a lot of people because you can cook one and give thin pieces with ice-cream and its more than sweet enough.

Leave a Reply

